Careers in IT – From Bad to Good – Ying, Yang

by Kamini Kandica Abdool

Cyber Space…. uh….. am I tired of discussing it? I should be because I talk about it so much but it seems that its the formation o a new type of research that I’m am pioneering along with my peers. Believe or not, writing in this sector was not even on my mind because I was so focused on the hands on tasks and ideas that come along with it. The more I write, the more I realize that the comfort that comes along with it is not the integrity and praise but the discussion that show the seriousness of the dismay that plague us in the industry. The ideas that we help transpire through our experience is not just important in the accomplishments but can transpire change when we discuss them as well.
The opportunities in IT are thought to be limitless but to look and decipher how to get into those areas is difficult. I had a computer business that focused on hardware support and projected networking and implementation. The business closed in 2006 and i tried consulting which did not work for long except it paid off my debt and gave me a chance to move on. The sector at that time was overwhelmingly packed and had little room for this sardine. For those of you that take things literally, I’m a girl, not a sardine (smile, giggle…. whatever you feel like…. ) Needless to say, the opportunity I had at that point that seemed rewarding was to go back to school and complete my degree. Coming out of the market was so easy to do but entering again was so difficult.
The IT market up until now in this decade has been overly saturated with high skilled but minimal experience candidates while there are not enough entry levels opportunities to incorporate them into the IT workforce. Being out of the market and lacking the hands on doesn’t look so bad when we can bring up the memories of the past and laugh at the mistakes we made. Why not share them so others can become inspired or learn how to do it better. Writing and discussing past experience in a compliant appropriate means was and is still a way to we to encourage the skills that I already have as well as developing a better peer network to publish and discuss my ideas and give information. My IT background and Sociology degree combined gave me opportunity to practice my skills and retain the ones I already have.
As with this, other opportunities exist that can be just as rewarding for the retired and the out of work IT professionals. Even if writing is not your forte, the efforts to reduce cyber crime and improvements in the security infrastructures have opened the doors for countless new opportunities. Some may be non-paying like internships that the FBI are now offering in their IT and cyber divisions, but can give you the experience you need for a lucrative career in the future. I know some of you may think that over-qualification might end up being the issue but it’s actually not. The consensus here is that you will be revisiting skills that you already have and using them to get gainful experience.

Like the Ying and the Yang, sometimes the good comes from the bad, money is important but experience is better. taking a non-paying opportunity might offer a more substantial and long term income than immediate opportunity and will also assist in a future in the field that will not end fruitlessly. But keep hanging out on these career boards they offer more opportunities than you realize and help by bringing the research to you. Halfway their already, all you need now is a way to interpret good advice and knowledge into a unique opportunity for you.

Sounds dumb I know ( sad face? no, no, no) It might just be the smartest thing to give attention to.

article end—–>

About kaminikandicaabdool

BA in Sociology - Temple University - December 2009 Microsoft Small Business Certificate - 2006 Current Endeavors - Volunteer at the World Tribute Center; Employee at Home Depot and Path Mark Against ANY KIND of terrorism, I don't smoke and I don't use non-prescription narcotics just the regular over-the-counter kind!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

