Dealing With the Threat Changed – The Stringent Values of Lawfullness

20131123_123757By Kamini Kandica Abdool

Many times when using the Internet, we are faced with threats that interfere with our daily activities, those that pose a risk, and some that put us in danger. Our activities, the pages we visit, the blogs we have, the forums we’re a part of, who we communicate with and how we do so all matter when thinking of the risks we face when opening up the browser page.

ieTrojans

trojan voicemailTrojans are invaders that pose very high risks to computer files and systems and also show with files that eavesdrop on computers, hack programs, hijack and corrupt files.  Since at least 2003, Trojans have been a big security threat and more recently than that have advanced into files that not only hijack but also eavesdrop.  ie Trojan.fakeavlock.

Trojan.Fakeavlock is a file that posed a high security risk to my computer and also eavesdropped on it.  Thankfully I was able to rid my system of the invader with help from my Anti-virus from Symantec and also enough information to report the incident to the police and my ISP – significant here to me was the reporting.

How did this change? It was harder than I thought.  We all know that eavesdropping is a crime but at the station there’s no report for it.This did not catch the intruder but it did help me get more information to help protect me from the threat and also gave me info to start investigating the situation.

The report, I  realized was important to get to escalate my situation but the evidence I had to supply was bare but yet sufficient enough to help me report the incident to the police as suspicious activity, and also was available for me to send to my antivirus company for further research.

References:

1.”Tojan.Fakeavlock”;Symantec; http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2012-062122-2041-99

2.”Norton Power Eraser”; Norton Rescue Tools; https://security.symantec.com/nbrt/npe.aspx?lcid=1033

About kaminikandicaabdool

BA in Sociology - Temple University - December 2009 Microsoft Small Business Certificate - 2006 Current Endeavors - Volunteer at the World Tribute Center; Employee at Home Depot and Path Mark Against ANY KIND of terrorism, I don't smoke and I don't use non-prescription narcotics just the regular over-the-counter kind!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

